How to comply with the standards and get a greener building

How to comply with the standards and get a greener building

Climate change and global warming are two of the major challenges for humankind. Both the EU and the UN have stated goals to reduce environmental impact and to prevent continued harm of our planet.

Did you know that about 40 percent of the CO2 emissions are related to buildings? Fortunately, the good news is that there are ways to decrease the figure. That is where Regin’s solutions make a difference!

Building certifications and standards

There are various international certification systems and standards on the market to support and contribute to more sustainable buildings. Among the most common ones are the BREEAM, and the LEED Green Building certifications. Within the EU there is also the EN15232 standard for Energy performance of buildings. Maybe you want to upgrade your existing building from a C-level to a B-level according to EN-15232? No matter what classification you want to conform with – we have a cost-efficient solution for your property.

BREEAM standards

BREEAM, the Building Research Establishment Environmental Assessment Method, is a tool used to evaluate and grade the total environmental impact of a building based on the following categories: management, energy, health and well-being, transport, water, materials, waste, ecology and land use, pollution and innovation. BREEAM is one of the first environmental certification systems and the most common one in use today. Read more about BREEAM.

LEED Green Building certification

LEED, Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, is a building certification process developed by the US Green Building Council. The aim is to increase environmental awareness and to promote the design and construction of energy-efficient, water-conserving buildings that use sustainable or green resources and materials.

There are nine key areas measured in the LEED process: sustainable sites, water efficiency, energy and atmosphere, materials and resources, indoor environmental quality, location and linkages, awareness and education, innovation in design and regional priority. Depending on the number of points earned, a project is awarded one out of four levels: certified, silver, gold or platinum. Read more about LEED.

EN15232 – a standard for Energy performance

EN15232 can be used to qualify the energy efficiency in projects with building automation and control systems. The projects can be assigned to one of the standard energy efficiency classes A, B, C or D. Read more about EN15232.

Interested to know more?

The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is a data protection law in the EU. For more information on how we handle your personal data, please read our Privacy Policy.